Categories
blog News article

My first experience when I was covering a court news

On 6th December, 2019 at 8:30 am, the lecturers gave us instruction and send us to different locations. We had to make a news report in order to submit before the deadline. I was sent to the criminal justice court, Phoenix Park where I was told to cover a news report on a sentence case. When I arrived there, it was holding many other cases before the hearing of the case I need to write on. Around 11:40 pm, the case opened for hearing. It was my first-time ever going to the court for a hearing. I was thrilled to see the procedure towards a hearing .

The Juries of the court first have to take an oath before opening the case for hearing. Unfortunately, I faced a challenge along the way. The judge decides hold the case till Monday at 11:30 am. I was not alone to cover this case, I shortly join my colleague who was to cover the same case. I asked my friend call our lecturer and discuss what will be the next step. He suggested to go to the museum which held a photography exhibition.

We rush to the location because it was almost pass our deadline to submit the news to our lecturer. Unfortunately, we got lost for three hours and I panicked. But, I told myself that worrying doesn’t help so we again tried to go back to the right direction and we made it finally . However, time was running out and we had two and half hours left in our hands. So, I took pictures of the exhibition and some details about it. Since it was one way towards city Centre, we had to walk for 45 minutes to catch a bus to the college. I finished my report within the nick of time.

In the end, I got the experience of the court hearings and struggle to keep up with the time to cover a story.

By sharmasukrity

My name is Sukrity Sharma. My hometown is from Kathmandu, Nepal and I live in Dublin, Ireland. I have done my undergrad degree in Social Work from Kathmandu, Nepal. I am currently studying Master’s in Journalism and Public Relations at Griffith College, South circular Road, Dublin 08.

I have specialized training with women, children with disabilities and young girls associated with human trafficking as trainee and intern. Not only that, I have also developed research and administrative management skills during my work with Step Nepal where I worked as St. Xavier's undergrad Intern.

Born in Kathmandu, I grew up listening to the stories of how during my birth I was by sheer grace of God saved from fatal disabilities. Had the pregnancy been mishandled, I might have ended up as one of these children that I now aspired to work for and bring light and meaning in their unstable lives of these children.

In addition, I grew up in a family of writers and teachers. My father being a poet and journalist, I learnt the idea of compassion and human contact as he worked on his books and had opportunity of traveling to remote areas in the Annapurnas when he was writing his famous books on the region. My mother being a book seller, I grew up reading classic literature including biographies of Gandhi, Lincoln, Mother Teresa, Devkota and Tagore.

I have also worked as a content writer for a year for a digital marketing back in my country, Nepal which added more knowledge to my administrative skills. I had specialized training with women, children with disabilities and young girls associated with human trafficking as a trainee and an intern. Not only that, I have also developed research and administrative management skills during my work with Step Nepal where I worked as Kathmandu St. Xavier's Undergrad Intern.

I have been in Dublin over a year now and have familiarized myself with the local work environment along with the local lore and legends and language through my work as a student, blog writer, a waitress, a SPAR deli assistant where I obtained skills in managing hygiene and culinary arts and hospitality management. I also worked at the till for managing cash and sales.

I am doing my own radio show called Rock Nights at babylonradio.com , every Monday at 10pm where I play rock music of every genre of Rock every Monday. I talk about each Artists that I play music from , new releases in the world of Rock and upcoming Concert. Please listen to my show by going to www.babylonradio.com. Share and support.
Thank you

Leave a comment